Klaus Lehmann

invisible placeholder

A master of the small format

On the death of ceramic sculptor Klaus Lehmann (1927-2016)

He was someone one met less at trade fairs and private viewings than in book shops. What does this tell us about Klaus Lehmann, who was long considered a “ceramist”? That his interests were both wider and deeper than just supplying bowls and vases with aesthetically pleasing forms
and décor. Widely read in literature and philosophy, he was concerned with noth-ing less than the fundamental conditions and acts both of the material and of humankind. Born in Berlin and confronted with the most difficult of contemporary conditions in his youth, he studied educational science and took his first steps in ceramics self-taught at the Werkkunstschule in Kassel, he then successfully ran a pottery in the Odenwald region with his then- wife Signe Lehmann-Pistorius. The couple attained a certain prominence with their hybrid vessel-sculptures, which retained their functionality over an extended period.

invisible placeholder

“But you grow tired of making openings and lids“, is how he explained his abandonment vessel ceramics and his orientation towards sculpture on the basis of fired clay. He earned his own char-acteristic position in art with cubic objects that successfully combined the rational design of Minimal Art with great tactile charm: his “Containers”, open at the side or the top, reminiscent of architectural models with their unglazed matt surfaces in varying shades of grey. Thus it is no surprise that he felt a particular intellectual affinity with colleagues from the field of Concrete Art; not of course with sticklers for sterile, formulaic formalism; he appreciated surprise, ambivalence, mystery and magic in others as well as in himself..

In 1989, his work was distinguished with the renowned Westerwald Prize for Ceramic Sculpture, only one of many honours he received. But it was not an inducement for standstill at the level he had achieved. It has variously been noted that even in advanced years he was prepared to risk “the step into the unknown, the insecure” (Walter Lokau). In fact, his later work represented a complete break with the established canon of his work. The right angle survived only as a kind of launch-pad or counter-form for forcefully handmade, irregularly proliferating constructions, for preference in ivory white to avoid anything distracting from the interplay of light and shade. This could go as far as amorphousness, as if all creation were just in the process of extracting itself from primordial chaos.

invisible placeholder

invisible placeholder

Mural pieces often resulted – definitely no longer to be mistaken for vessel ceramics. Klaus Lehmann, who died on 9 June in a hospital in Erbach after a long history of illness, was correctly identified in the announcement of his death in the Darmstädter Echo as a “sculptor”. That he was attracted to small formats all his life in no way detracts from his standing. It is actually much more suited to his personal demeanour, which was free from any form of vanity, always focused on the matter in hand and on essentials, yet always attentive to others, and with an occasional flash of mischievous humour. It was easier for him to praise others than to listen to praise of himself. The impetus that Lehmann gave sculpture with ceramic means lives on, both in the work of his immediate pupil, Friederike Zeit from Deidesheim, as well as overall in a younger generation of artists, who were inspired by his unwavering attitude towards the discovery of new pathways.

Roland Held, Darmstadt

invisible placeholder

Klaus Lehmann Administration of the artist’s estate

invisible placeholder

The artistic estate of Klaus Lehmann is administered by Galerie Metzger. Currently a catalogue of works is being compiled, which can be downloaded as a .pdf file. We accept no responsibility for any errors.

Sculptural works

Works on paper

Holdings

Galerie Metzger is working together with Klaus Lehmann’s sons – Alexander Lehmann, Guy Lehmann and Nicolas von Wilcke – to compile a catalogue raisonné.

We would greatly appreciate owners of works by Klaus Lehmann contacting Galerie Metzger so that we can complete the catalogue. We would also be grateful for any information that might be of assistance to us in this task.

Reading the Catalogue Raisonné:

  • Dimensions are always quoted in cm, h x l x d. If mural pieces have multiple options for hanging, a distinction is made between a and b.
  • Klaus Lehmann catalogued his works until 1996; the last number he gave was 794-96. After this we will state the year and number the pieces consecutively.
  • Klaus Lehmann signed and dated his works – of course there are exceptions – his marks can be seen here under Marks.

Bibliography

Works currently available can be seen on the page Holdings.

A comprehensive new catalogue was published for the exhibition serendipity, from 14 May – 11 June 2017. It can be ordered on info@galerie-metzger.de for €25.00 plus postage.

View the catalogue

invisible placeholder

width and height should be displayed here dynamically

Klaus Lehmann

invisible placeholder

Ein Großer des Kleinformats

Zum Tode des keramischen Bildhauers Klaus Lehmann (1927-2016)

Einer, dem man weniger auf Vernissagen und Messen begegnete als in Buchhandlungen. Was sagt das über Klaus Lehmann, lange als „Keramiker“ gehandelt, aus? Dass seine Interessen weiter und tiefer reichten, als form- und dekorschöne Schalen und Vasen abzuliefern. Dem in Literatur und Philosophie Bewanderten ging es um nicht weniger als die Grundgegebenheiten und -akte sowohl des Materials wie des Menschen. Zwar betrieb der in Berlin geborene, in der Jugend mit schwierigsten Zeitumständen konfrontierte Lehmann nach Pädagogikstudium und autodidaktischen Anfängen an der Werkkunstschule Kassel zwischen 1955 und 1965 durchaus erfolgreich im Odenwald eine keramische Werkstatt mit seiner damaligen Ehefrau Signe Lehmann-Pistorius. Bekanntheit errang das Paar mit Zwitterwesen von Gefäß und Plastik, die lange ihre Benutzbarkeit behielten.

invisible placeholder

„Doch irgendwann hat man es satt, Öffnungen und Deckel zu machen“, begründete er selbst seine Absage an die Gefäßkeramik und seine Hinwendung zur freien Bildhauerei auf der Grundlage gebrannten Tons. Eine eigene künstlerische Position erwarb er sich mit kubischen Objekten, die den rationalen Zuschnitt der Minimal Art mit großem haptischem Reiz zu verbinden wussten: die sog. „Container“, an Gehäuse-Modelle mit partiellem Einblick, seitlich oder von oben, erinnernd, unglasiert-duff, in Grautönen changierend. Da verwundert es nicht, dass er sich geistesverwandt fühlte speziell den Kollegen von der Konkreten Kunst. Freilich nicht den Vertretern eines dürren Formalismus nach Rezept; Überraschung, Ambivalenz, Geheimnis, Magie schätzte er bei anderen wie bei sich selbst.

1989 wurde seine Produktion mit dem renommierten Westerwald-Preis für keramische Plastik ausgezeichnet – nur eine von mehreren Ehrungen. Kein Grund für Klaus Lehmann, beim Erreichten stehenzubleiben. Dass er, bis ins vorgerückte Alter, „immer wieder neu den Schritt ins Ungesicherte, Ungewisse“ (Walter Lokau) riskiere, wurde ihm verschiedentlich bescheinigt. Tatsächlich verkörpert sein Spätwerk nochmals einen radikalen Bruch mit dem bewährten Kanon. Der rechte Winkel überlebte nur noch quasi als Absprung- und Gegenform für stark handschriftlich, irregulär wuchernd gebaute Gebilde, vorzugsweise in Elfenbeinweiß, damit ja nichts ablenkt vom Licht-und-Schatten-Spiel. Das konnte ans Amorphe grenzen – als schälte sich alle Schöpfung eben erst aus dem uranfänglichen Chaos.

invisible placeholder

invisible placeholder

Oft kamen dabei Wandobjekte heraus – mit Gefäßkeramik nun wirklich nicht mehr zu verwechseln. Klaus Lehmann, der am 9.Juni nach längerer Krankengeschichte in einer Erbacher Klinik starb, ist in seiner Todesanzeige im „Darmstädter Echo“ zurecht als „Bildhauer“ ausgewiesen. Dass er sich zeitlebens zum Kleinformat hingezogen fühlte, schmälert seinen Rang nicht. Es passt vielmehr zu seinem persönlichen Auftreten, das frei von jeder Eitelkeit war, auf die Sache bezogen, aufs Wesentliche konzentriert, dabei seinem Gegenüber stets aufmerksam zugewandt, gelegentlich mit spitzbübischem Humor. Einer, dem es leichter fiel zu loben, als Lob über sich zu hören! Die Impulse, die Lehmann dem plastischen Gestalten mit keramischem Material gestiftet hat, leben weiter, im Schaffen sowohl seiner direkten Schülerin Friederike Zeit als auch von Künstlern wie Hans Fischer und Möller, die sich von seinem unerschrocken-konsequenten Geist inspirieren ließen.

Roland Held, Darmstadt

invisible placeholder

Klaus Lehmann Nachlassverwaltung

invisible placeholder

Der künstlerische Nachlass von Klaus Lehmann wird von der Galerie Metzger betreut. Im Moment befindet sich das „Werkverzeichnis“ im Aufbau Sie können sich das Werkverzeichnis als PDF herunterladen. Wir haften nicht für evtl. Fehler.

Plastische Arbeiten

Papierarbeiten

Bestand

Die Galerie Metzger arbeitet zusammen mit den Söhnen von Klaus Lehmann – Alexander Lehmann, Guy Lehmann und Nicolas von Wilcke – an dem Aufbau eines Werkverzeichnisses.

Wir würden uns freuen, wenn die Besitzer von Arbeiten von Klaus Lehmann mit der Galerie Metzger Kontakt aufnehmen, um das Werkverzeichnis zu ergänzen. Außerdem sind wir für jede Information die uns in dieser Aufgabe weiterführt dankbar.

Zur Lesbarkeit des Werkverzeichnisses:

  • Die Maße sind immer in cm angegeben und H, L, T. Wenn bei Wandarbeiten mehrere Möglichkeiten der Hängung gegeben sind wird in a und b unterschieden.
  • Klaus Lehmann hat ein Werkverzeichnis bis 1996 geführt, die letzte vergebene Werknummer ist die 794-96. Danach werden wir das Jahr angeben und mit fortlaufenden Nummer versehen.
  • Klaus Lehmann hat seine Arbeiten signiert und datiert – Ausnahmen gibt es immer – hier unter Signatur sehen Sie seine Zeichen.

Literatur

Verfügbare Arbeiten sehen Sie auf der Seite „Bestand“.

Anlässlich der Ausstellung serendipity vom 14.5. bis 11.06.2017 ist ein neuer umfangreicher Katalog erschienen. Sie können diesen für 25 Euro zuzügl. Porto bestellen unter info@galerie-metzger.de

Katalogeinblick

invisible placeholder