Beate Kuhn

invisible placeholder

Ceramics Born of the Spirit of Music and Nature

Repetition and variation – along side the overrated element of innovation, these are the fundamental principles of the arts from tradition to avant-garde. The fact that, when asked about the genesis and origins of her work, German ceramist Beate Kuhn always made reference to Neue Musik in the 20th century as a source of inspiration, this is not merely a personal peculiarity of hers. For preference, she listened to the entirely atonal music of Luigi Nono when she was working, having grasped the structural analogies of these differing fields, and fruitfully and idiosyncratically like none other, intuitively transferred these utterly simple fundamental principles of working creatively to contemporary ceramics.

invisible placeholder

Thus she invented for herself an entirely unmistakable idiom of her own, an astonishingly free form of ceramic sculpture made up of the authentic methods and techniques of pottery, assembling sculpture of the greatest complexity from infinitely varied, colourfully glazed, exclusively wheel-thrown elements, frequently challenging the frontiers of feasibility in terms of technique and skill. She drew the stimuli for her subjects from, in the widest sense,the forms and creatures of nature, which she programmatically interpreted as animals or plants, or as an abstract interpretation of plants as organic compositions, by means of sequencing and assemblage to create sculptural forms. Aware of the vagaries of clay’s structural instability, she did this not spontaneously but meticulously, after a prepared structural design for everything from playful miniatures large scale architectural ceramics. In retrospect it is not hard to see – in the non-representational sequences linked to form agglomerations and clusters, and in volumes modulated in size, chromatics and rhythm – compositions translatable from three-dimensional spatiality into tonal temporality, which can be read in musical terms as linear, chordal and melodic scores without sacrificing any of their creative autonomy as ceramic sculptures. It is surprising that no string quartet has yet dared to transform what in many respects are the score-like qualities of these forms into sound in compelling improvisations. It would have been the greatest pleasure for this sensitive soul.

It was not Beate Kuhn’s prescribed path that she should become a ceramist. She was born to artist parents on 15 July 1927 in Düsseldorf. Her father, Erich, was a sculptor and her mother, Lisa, a pianist. Although after graduating from school in 1947 in Neustadt in the Black Forest, where the family had been forced to move in the war, she would have loved to become a painter, she did not consider herself talented enough. She began to study art history in Freiburg, which made a lasting impression on her, the materially impoverished postwar era providing her with cultural riches. When artistic Modernism returned excitingly to Germany in its diverse forms, the heroes of the young art enthusiast were painters such as Paul Klee and Joan Miró. Then, in a pre-war catalogue, she found illustrations of vessels by ceramist Jan Bontjes van Beek and immediately saw her path. As the apprenticeship she wanted with Richard Bampi in nearby Kandern did not materialise, in 1949 she began to study at the school of applied arts, the Werkkunstschule in Wiesbaden. After qualifying as a journeyman, she went on to the Werkkunstschule in Darmstadt under Theodor Schroeder. While still in the final stages of her course, she designed asymmetric vase forms for Rosenthal, including the flamboyant oval form with a lateral opening which became famous as the Kummet vase.

In 1953, she took over the pottery of her teacher in the village of Lottstetten, south Baden, together with Karl Scheid, who also trained at the school in Darmstadt. Here, Beate Kuhn painted organic tableware and anthropomorphic vessel sculptures, transferring to ceramics figural abstraction in the manner of her favourite painters. The Frankfurt Fair was the indispensable sales outlet for these avant-garde products created in the provinces. Then in 1957, she finally relocated to Düdelsheim in Hesse, where she moved into a bungalow providing living and working space designed by her brother, an unusual one-room building, henceforth scene of her life and work. It was situated immediately adjacent to the new studio of Karl and Ursula Scheid and that of sculptor Bernhard Vogler. With her language of forms consisting of sculptures assembled from thrown elements, which she developed at the end of the 1950s, the ever-charming Kuhn became an outstanding, highly respected figure in postwar German ceramics who anticipated later developments. She amassed recognition and prizes: in 1968, she became a member of the Académie Internationale de la Céramique in Geneva, later she was a founder member of the German ceramics group, Gruppe 83. She was awarded State Prizes from Baden, Bavaria and Hesse, twice received the Westerwald Prize and most recently was honoured by the Lotte Reimers Foundation. She exhibited worldwide, museums in Germany, Europe and Japan hold examples of her work.
The German ceramist Beate Kuhn died on 10 December 2015, leaving behind an unparalleled ceramic wonderland.

Dr. Walter Lokau

Besides an immense number of private collections, Beate Kuhn is represented in all the museums of arts and crafts in Germany and in many museums worldwide. Besides those already mentioned – Hetjens Museum and Keramion, these museums include: Schlossmuseum Aschaffenburg, Keramik-Museum Berlin, Kunstgewerbemuseum Berlin, Kunstsammlungen der Veste Coburg, Museum für moderne Keramik Deidesheim (seit 1993 Land Rheinland-Pfalz, Sammlung Hinder/Reimers), Museum für Kunsthandwerk Frankfurt am Main, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Kestner-Museum Hannover, Sammlung der Hoechst AG, Keramikmuseum Westerwald Höhr-Grenzhausen, Badisches Landesmuseum Karlsruhe, Museum für Angewandte Kunst Köln, GRASSI Museum für Angewandte Kunst Leipzig, Kunsthalle Mannheim, Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg, Kulturgeschichtliches Museum Osnabrück, Stiftung Schleswig-Holsteinische Landesmuseen Schloss Gottorf (Schleswig), Emslandmuseum Schloss Clemenswerth (Sögel), Württembergisches Landesmuseum Stuttgart, Musée Ariana Genf, Mimar Sinan Üniversitesi Istanbul, Victoria and Albert Museum London, Museum Boijmans van Beuningen Rotterdam, Taipeh Fine Arts Museum, National Museum of Modern Art Tokyo, Museum Bellerive Zürich.

invisible placeholder

invisible placeholder

invisible placeholder

invisible placeholder

width and height should be displayed here dynamically

Beate Kuhn

invisible placeholder

Keramik aus dem Geiste der Musik und der Natur

Wiederholung und Variation – neben dem überbewerteten Moment der Innovation sind
sie die grundlegenden Prinzipien der Künste, von der Tradition bis zur Avantgarde. Dass die deutsche Keramikerin Beate Kuhn, auf Genese und Herkunft ihrer Arbeiten angesprochen, immer wieder auf die Neue Musik des 20sten Jahrhunderts als Einfluss verwies, ist nicht einfach eine persönliche Marotte der Künstlerin gewesen. Sie, die beim Arbeiten mit Vorliebe die gänzlich atonale Musik Luigi Nonos hörte, hatte die strukturellen Analogien der verschiedenen Bereiche begriffen und, fruchtbar und eigenwillig wie niemand neben ihr, intuitiv jene so simplen Grundprinzipien gestalterischen Bildens in die zeitgenössische Keramik übertragen.

invisible placeholder

So erfand sie sich ein ganz eigenes, unverwechselbares Idiom: Eine aus den genuinen Mitteln und Techniken der Töpferei stammende, gleichwohl aber erstaunlich freie keramische Plastik, indem sie ihre oft an die Grenze des technisch und handwerklich Machbaren stoßenden Plastiken gänzlich aus auf der Scheibe gedrehten, endlos variierten und farbig glasierten Elementen zu größter Komplexität montierte. Motivische Anregungen waren ihr hierbei, im weitesten Sinne, Geschöpfe und Gebilde der Natur, die sie – programmatisch als Tier und Pflanze oder in abstrahierender Interpretation von Gewächs als organische Komposition – mittels Reihung und Montage in plastische Formen umsetzte, nicht spontan sondern, im Wissen um die Tücken „tonaler“ Stabilität, akkurat anhand vorgezeichnetem Bauplan, von verspielter Miniatur bis zur raumgreifenden Baukeramik. Nachträglich braucht es nicht viel, in den ungegenständlichen Reihungen, zu Agglomerationen und Clustern verbundenen, in Größe, Chromatik und Rhythmik modulierten Volumina Kompositionen zu sehen, die aus der plastischen Räumlichkeit wiederum in klangliche Zeitlichkeit übersetzbar und musikalisch als lineare, akkordische und melodische Partituren lesbar wären, ohne darum von ihrer gestalterischen Autonomie als keramische Plastiken einzubüßen. Warum nicht schon längst ein Streichquartett sich an den Versuch gewagt hat, das in vielerlei Hinsicht Partiturhafte der Gebilde stringent improvisierend in Klang zu verwandeln, verwundert. Es wäre der Empfindsamen die größte Freude gewesen.

Dass Beate Kuhn Keramikerin werden würde, war ihr nicht vorgezeichnet. Am 15. Juli 1927 in Düsseldorf geboren entstammte sie einem künstlerischen Elternhaus – der Vater Erich war Bildhauer, Pianistin die Mutter Lisa –, doch nach dem Abitur 1947 – die Familie war kriegsbedingt nach Neustadt im Schwarzwald gezogen – wäre sie zu gerne Malerin geworden, wähnte sich selbst aber als zu wenig talentiert. Ein begonnenes Kunstgeschichtsstudium in Freiburg prägte sie nachhaltig, die materiell armselige Nachkriegszeit war ihr kulturell reich. Als die künstlerische Moderne vielgestaltig und aufregend nach Deutschland zurückkehrte, waren die Heroen der jungen Kunstenthusiastin Maler wie Paul Klee und Joan Miró. In einem Vorkriegskatalog abgebildet fand sie dann Gefäße des Keramikers Jan Bontjes van Beek und sah hier mit einem Mal ihren Weg. Da aus der gewünschten Lehre bei Richard Bampi im nahegelegenen Kandern nichts wurde, studierte sie ab 1949 an der Werkkunstschule in Wiesbaden, nach der Gesellenprüfung an der Werkkunstschule Darmstadt bei Friedrich Theodor Schroeder. Noch am Ende der Ausbildungszeit entwarf sie für die Firma Rosenthal asymmetrische Vasenformen, darunter die als „Kummet-Vase“ bekannt gewordene extravagante Oval-Form mit seitlicher Öffnung.

1953 übernahmen sie und der gleichfalls an der Darmstädter Schule ausgebildete Karl Scheid die Werkstatt ihres Lehrers im südbadischen Dorf Lottstetten, wo Beate Kuhn organische Geschirre und anthropomorphe Gefäßplastiken bemalte, figürliche Abstraktion in der Art ihrer Maler-Favoriten auf Keramik übertragend. Die Frankfurter Messe war der unverzichtbare Vertriebsweg für die in der Provinz entstandene Avantgarde-Ware. 1957 schließlich siedelte sie nach Düdelsheim in Hessen über, wo sie in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft der neuen Werkstatt des Ehepaares Karl und Ursula Scheid und des Ateliers des Bildhauers Bernhard Vogler einen von ihrem Bruder entworfenen Wohn- und Werkstatt-Bungalow bezog, ein ungewöhnliches Einraum-Gebäude, Ort des Lebens und Arbeitens fortan. Mit ihrer gegen das Ende der 1950er Jahre entwickelten Sprache der aus Drehteilen montierten Plastik wurde die immer Liebenswürdige zu einer hochgeachteten, spätere Entwicklungen antizipierenden Ausnahmeerscheinung in der deutschen Keramik nach 1945. Anerkennungen und Preise häuften sich: 1968 wurde sie Mitglied der Genfer Académie Internationale de la Céramique, später gehörte sie zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der Gruppe 83, sie erhielt unter anderen Badische, Bayerische und Hessische Staatspreise, wurde doppelt mit dem Westerwaldpreis bedacht, zuletzt geehrt mit dem Preis der Lotte-Reimers-Stiftung, Ausstellungen hatte sie weltweit, Museen in Deutschland, Europa und Japan hüten ihre Arbeiten.
Ein keramisches Wunderland ohnegleichen hinterlassend starb die große deutsche Keramikerin Beate Kuhn am 10. Dezember 2015.

Dr. Walter Lokau

Beate Kuhn ist – neben einer unübersehbaren Zahl von privaten Sammlungen – in allen wichtigen Kunstgewerbemuseen Deutschlands und in vielen Museen weltweit vertreten; neben den schon genannten (Hetjens-Museum und Keramion) unter anderem: Schlossmuseum Aschaffenburg, Keramik-Museum Berlin, Kunstgewerbemuseum Berlin, Kunstsammlungen der Veste Coburg, Museum für moderne Keramik Deidesheim (seit 1993 Land Rheinland-Pfalz, Sammlung Hinder/Reimers), Museum für Kunsthandwerk Frankfurt am Main, Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg, Kestner-Museum Hannover, Sammlung der Hoechst AG, Keramikmuseum Westerwald Höhr-Grenzhausen, Badisches Landesmuseum Karlsruhe, Museum für Angewandte Kunst Köln, GRASSI Museum für Angewandte Kunst Leipzig, Kunsthalle Mannheim, Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte Oldenburg, Kulturgeschichtliches Museum Osnabrück, Stiftung Schleswig-Holsteinische Landesmuseen Schloss Gottorf (Schleswig), Emslandmuseum Schloss Clemenswerth (Sögel), Württembergisches Landesmuseum Stuttgart, Musée Ariana Genf, Mimar Sinan Üniversitesi Istanbul, Victoria and Albert Museum London, Museum Boijmans van Beuningen Rotterdam, Taipeh Fine Arts Museum, National Museum of Modern Art Tokyo, Museum Bellerive Zürich.

invisible placeholder

invisible placeholder

invisible placeholder

invisible placeholder